Uncategorized

The Journey is the Destination

Since leaving Champaign IL in September 2010 and embarking on a 7 week car journey across America I have come to realize more and more that the Journey is the Destination.

For so long I have missed out on the enjoyment of the moment because I have always been focussed on some future event or goal. Yes goals are important but in our relationship with God it’s about the journey, it’s about the developing relationship and enjoying intimacy with our Father. It’s about Him changing us daily to be more like Jesus, which let’s face it takes a life time.

I had a new insight this week too about the different crafts I do. I noticed that the finished item was always at the forefront of my mind whether it be a blanket or a collage. My son has been trying for so long to get me to use my imagination more and to just enjoy the process of making art. I was always too afraid of spoiling the paper (there’s always more paper) choosing the wrong color ( there are no color police) wondering what others would think of my creation, instead of just doing it for my pleasure.

Well today I did it I took time to put color on some watercolor paper then glue scrapbook paper to it and stamp and stencil over it too. Whatever I felt like putting on the page I did, you wouldn’t believe how hard it was but how satisfying it was too. So now I am going to keep practicing and just enjoy the feeling of creating something totally unique.

I am going to enjoy this journey of life too with all it’s different facets because God said “My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life”.

2 thoughts on “The Journey is the Destination

Leave a comment